What Are You Thankful For?

We Ask, You AnswerFrom our fastest sellout in history to raising a record amount of money for Nationwide Children’s Hospital, we have a lot to be thankful for this year. We could talk for hours about how much we appreciate our participants, volunteers and fans and their ongoing support of the marathon, but instead, we want to hear from you what you’re thankful for when it comes to running or walking.

We asked our marathoners and 1/2 marathoners to share their thoughts on Facebook earlier this week. Click here to read the full list of responses, and check out a few that stuck out to us below. And, don’t forget to add yours when you’re done reading!

  • I started running for the Canton Half-Marathon in 2012 just to see if I could do it, after years of telling myself that I couldn’t. I had a good experience and kept it up last year during one of the most stressful years at work that I’ve ever had. I am thankful that I took the risk, tried it and now love it! I am thankful that I am able to do it, that it gets me outside and out of my head and that I now have a connection to lots of runners! – Becky Blackford
  • I’m thankful for my organ donor/family. I received a heart transplant in 2004. Prior to that it was a challenge to do daily tasks; I plan on participating in my 4th half marathon in Oct 2014. I think sometimes we take the daily tasks such as walking to the restroom, vacuuming, even going to the grocery store, for granted until you cannot do them. – Bobbi Shaffer
  • I am thankful that I can run, thankful for all the lessons I learned and thankful that my family runs with me. – Alana Jensen
  • I am thankful for my brother and sister-in-law who got me into running. I have only been running for about a year and a half and have already completed three 5Ks, one 5-miler, and two half-marathons, and I know there are lots more to come. I am also thankful for all the spectators who are there to pick my spirits up. – Jason Stephen Jackson
  • I’m thankful for the great feeling of accomplishment! Never did I ever expect to even attempt let alone complete a half marathon! – Nicci Basil Swint
  • I am no longer addicted to cigarettes or to anything else harmful. I don’t need to drink to escape my problems any longer, because I can go for a run and quiet and overcome them all. I no longer feel angry at the entire world. I am no longer depressed. I am no longer overweight. I don’t have high blood pressure any longer. I am not who I once was, any longer, because running set me free, showed me who I really am, and introduced me to countless wonderful people who show me every single day that the human spirit can triumph over anything. – Ryan Gilbert
  • Real simple.. Thankful that I can do it. – Rob Belt
  • I’m thankful that running can be done literally everywhere you go. I’ve gotten to run on two continents and 8 countries over the past year. – Paul Christopher Hopkins
  • I am thankful for my amazing running friends who are always there to support me at just the right time. Whether it is helping me through training runs, encouraging me when I battled through injuries, or cheering me on at a race, my running friends are the best! – Dave Parsons
  • I decided to run the 2012 Columbus marathon after losing my Mom to leukemia. Though I was never a runner, I wanted to honor her in a big way. Through running, I discovered healing in a way I had never known. Hitting the pavement, looking at the stars, reconnecting with God…Wow. I am so thankful that running not only made me healthier, it helped heal my heart after losing my best friend, my Mom. – Stephanie Daniels
  • I am thankful that I have the right mindset to go out and run! No excuses, just me believing in myself to go the distances. – Blaire Courtnee
  • I have always supported my marathon man husband who has been running for 46 years. He encouraged me to start running even though I’ve walked for exercise for 39 years. I celebrated my one year running anniversary at the Columbus Hot Chocolate race last weekend. On Monday I saw my doctor. My blood pressure dropped dramatically within that year; she took me off of my osteo meds since my bone mineral density had improved considerably. There is no question that I owe these results to running. – Marnette Roth Severance
  • I am thankful for the time it gives me alone with my 12 year old son. He runs XC and the time we train together is my favorite time of the day, week and month. Just the two of us and I let him talk about whatever he wants. Getting to know the young man he has become is priceless! – Jeff Powell

What are you thankful for this year? Let us know in the comments or tell us on Facebook and Twitter. 

One thought on “What Are You Thankful For?

  1. Everyday I say to myself:
    Lucky me swimmin’ in my ability
    Dancin’ down on life with agility
    Blessed with a bucket of lucky mobility

    That is what I am thankful for!

Leave a Reply

