Kick-Off for the 2017 Columbus Marathon

By Shannon McLoughlin Morrison

Screen Shot 2017-06-14 at 10.01.29 AM

Here we go folks! Are you excited yet? I know that I am! Before we dig in too far, I would like to add a note of gratitude to Darris and his crew with the Columbus Marathon. This is one of my favorite races and it is awesome to be able to be a part of it, if even in this small way.

Some of you might (kind of) remember who I am from last year, but for those of you I’ve never met, HI!!!! My name is Shannon Morrison, lover of running, pet rabbits, self-professed nerd, and your very humble guest blogger for the summer.

Speaking of this summer, it promises to be a hot one. I don’t know about any of you, but I’ve been outside a few times lately and it has been quite the scorcher. I am so glad that I have all of you, my virtual running buddies, to help me get through what promises to be a warm training season.

This year I will be tackling the full marathon. I am hoping that it will be my 10th full and first time coming under 5 hours. This will be quite challenging for me as I don’t enjoy speed work much and have grown comfortable running nice and easy paces. But, I thought that if I don’t throw this goal out there, I will never go for it!

So, how is it going so far you might ask? As I am sure many of you have also started your summer training, it has been going OK so far. To help me out this year, I have joined a running group called Marathoners In Training. In past years, I have been a pace coach, but this season I have taken off my coaching hat and put on my participant one and I am totally excited.

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-14 at 10.01.49 AM

We have three amazing coaches, Ron, Erin, and Wade taking us through our Saturday long runs and the rest of the gang has the best attitude each week, it’s definitely contagious! If you are looking for a way to make your long training runs more bearable, I would highly suggest coming out and running with us one Saturday, or checking out one of the many other local running clubs around Columbus or in your hometown. It is way more enjoyable to spend those hours with friends then by myself!

I also joined the Fleet Feet Columbus Run Crew, because I wanted to run more races this summer that were important to the Columbus running community. Last week there was The Big Run to help celebrate National Running Day. Ron and I had a good showing at the race and of course we had to get the selfie!

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-14 at 10.02.12 AM

 

This week marks an 8 mile Saturday run. I don’t have any race plan for the week, but if you do, tell us about it! I would love to hear about your training plans and goals for the Nationwide Columbus Marathon this year!

Left, right, repeat! Happy training! Until next time!

Instagram: @BuckeyeRunnerGal

Follow Shannon at: https://runforthebuns.wordpress.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BuckeyeRunnerGal/

Leave a Reply

