The Marathon Blues

Screen Shot 2017-07-10 at 1.16.47 PM

July is an interesting month when it comes to marathon training. You are over the hump of slightly shorter distances, but not quite tackling 16+ training miles yet and definitely haven’t hit the wonderful 20 miler training runs (save those for later!).

But, training definitely just got real. You’ve probably registered for your race and the miles are more challenging, and the heat of summer is in full force. It is eye opening and exciting all at once. If you are running with a group, you know that everyone feels the same way, even if they don’t say it. Whether it is your first or 50th full or half marathon, you collectively know that the journey you are on is exhilarating and scary all at the same time.

Recently I have been struggling with my running and finding joy with it. I know it’s there in me somewhere, but I am also fully aware of what I am doing and the challenge it presents, leading me to question myself and my goals. I find myself asking, why? I ask this more often than I would like to. I’ve had to back off from my running group a bit because I know this is an internal struggle that no one else can make better but me.

We all feel it…sometime. The challenge is to keep moving forward. I am trying to look at this as all a part of my training, physical challenges from the running and mental from staying motivated and dedicated. This too shall pass.

What’s been helping is running some 5k’s for fun. Recently I ran the Charity Day 5k here in Columbus Ohio. It is a really great concept for a 5k. With so many local races these days, non-profits can find it to be challenging to host their own race and the cost of which can become a burden rather than a fundraiser. This event lets organizations partner together to bring the costs down, and each non-profit is responsible for recruiting runners and walkers to be a part of their ‘team.’ There were quite a few incredible organizations to run with, but there is one that is particularly near and dear to me- the Ohio House Rabbit Rescue. They operate an adoption center for rabbits here in Columbus Ohio (http://www.ohiohouserabbitrescue.org/). Next to cats and dogs, these are pets that are frequently abandoned. Check out their website for more information! My goal for this 5k was to have a good time and run at a faster pace than I had that morning for my 9-miler— and I did it! Finish pace was a 12:30

 

Screen Shot 2017-07-10 at 1.17.06 PM

How has your training been going? Have you ever hit a running snaffoo? How do you keep yourself motivated? I’d love to hear from you- follow me at one of the social media platforms below!

 

Left, right, repeat! Happy training! Until next time!

Instagram: @BuckeyeRunnerGal

Follow Shannon at: https://runforthebuns.wordpress.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BuckeyeRunnerGal/

 

Leave a Reply

